HomeDublin

SLATTERYS

129, 130 AND 131 CAPEL STREET, Dublin

Pub details

Address
129, 130 AND 131 CAPEL STREET
County
Dublin
Eircode
D04 T295
Licence reference
N1068

Amenities

  • Limited wheelchair access

Building and heritage

Capel Street was laid out in 1680 by Humphrey Jervis as a prestigious residential street and named after Arthur Capel, Earl of Essex. By 1800 the street had become one of the city’s primary commercial thoroughfares and the current plot ratios reflect the buildings of that period. This decorative corner building is prominently sited at the junction of Capel Street and Little Mary Street, with matching elevations fronting onto both streets. The elaborate stucco façade, articulated by full-height panelled pilasters, wreath motifs and an elaborate cornice over the shopfront provide aesthetic...

Reviewed pub lore

Local notes

Established

Built between c.1840 and c.1890.

Architecture

Capel Street was laid out in 1680 by Humphrey Jervis as a prestigious residential street and named after Arthur Capel, Earl of Essex. By 1800 the street had become one of the city’s primary commercial thoroughfares and the current plot ratios reflect the buildings of that period.

Community memories

Stories from people who know this pub

Loading community memories…

Know this pub? Add a memory