Pub details
- Address
- 19/20 LOWER BRIDGE STREET
- Eircode
- D08 WC64
- Opening hours
- Mo-Th 10:30-23:30; Fr-Sa 10:30-00:30; Su 12:30-23:30
- Licence reference
- S1475
Amenities
- Limited wheelchair access
Building and heritage
There has been a public house and hotel on this site since 1198, with a record in 1703 of a James King being granted all that large timber house called the Brazen Head. Rebuilt in the mid eighteenth century, the building has a long association with the history of Dublin. Robert Emmet hid here after the rising of 1803 and later, it was often used as an assembly place by Irish Volunteers, including Michael Collins. It has cultural significance as it is mentioned in Ulysses, and was frequented by writers such as Brendan Behan and Flann OBrien. The building retains much of its early form...