HomeDublin

THE FERRYMAN

35 AND 36 SIR JOHN ROGERSON'S QUAY, Dublin

Pub details

Address
35 AND 36 SIR JOHN ROGERSON'S QUAY
County
Dublin
Eircode
D02E448
Licence reference
S0153

Amenities

  • Wheelchair accessible

Building and heritage

Originally two separate houses, occupied by Michael Scanlon and James Lynch in the 1850s when the Griffith Valuation was carried out, it is probable that these buildings served as offices and shops as well as houses by that time. The trade directories in 1862 list Scanlon as a grocer and ship builder, while No.36 is recorded as a 'ship smiths' run by Charles Doherty. Today this distinctive building is set in a highly visible location near Samuel Beckett Bridge. The red brick façade contrasts with the recent fabric of the surrounding buildings, making it an important reminder of the early...

Reviewed pub lore

Local notes

Established

Built between c.1810 and c.1830.

Architecture

Originally two separate houses, occupied by Michael Scanlon and James Lynch in the 1850s when the Griffith Valuation was carried out, it is probable that these buildings served as offices and shops as well as houses by that time.

Community memories

Stories from people who know this pub

Loading community memories…

Know this pub? Add a memory