HomeDublin

THE GINGER MAN

39 FENIAN STREET (BASEMENT GROUND AND 1ST FLOORS), 40 FENIAN STREET (BASEMENT GROUND 1ST AND PART 2ND FLOORS), Dublin

Pub details

Address
39 FENIAN STREET (BASEMENT GROUND AND 1ST FLOORS), 40 FENIAN STREET (BASEMENT GROUND 1ST AND PART 2ND FLOORS)
County
Dublin
Eircode
D02 KD51
Opening hours
Mo-Th 11:30-00:30; Fr-Sa 11:30-01:30; Su 16:00-23:00
Licence reference
S0015

Amenities

  • Wheelchair accessible

Building and heritage

A well-proportioned late eighteenth-century former house which has been subject to some alterations and insertion of modern fabric, including the rebuilding of the upper floor and recent replacement of some windows. A decorative focus is provided by a doorcase that features Adamesque Ionic columns. The retention of the setting features enhances the building. Despite some loss of original character and detailing, No. 39 remains an important element of the historic urban grain of both Fenian Street and the wider south side of the city. Fenian Street was originally named Hamilton's Row.

From the record · Verified background

What the archives say

Independent reporting and heritage records on this pub, drawn from a curated list of Irish news outlets, Revenue Commissioners, NIAH, and the Dictionary of Irish Architects. Every claim links to its primary source.

Listing historyCultural mentions

Revenue's renewed-liquor-licence register lists licence ref S0015 as a Publican's Licence (7-Day Ordinary) for THE GINGER MAN at 39 FENIAN STREET (BASEMENT GROUND AND 1ST FLOORS), 40 FENIAN STREET (BASEMENT GROUND 1ST AND PART 2ND FLOORS) in DUBLIN CITY with MAYMOUNT LIMITED as licensee.[1] NIAH records The Ginger Man at 39 Fenian Street as a regional-rated former house dated 1770-1810, built circa 1790 and now in use as a public house.[2] The Irish Independent reported in December 2023 that The Ginger Man's annual Christmas-decoration tradition had begun 33 years earlier, and identified Stephen Mooney as owner of the Fenian Street pub.[3]

Sources  (3)
  1. Revenue Commissioners · Register of Renewed Liquor Licences · 2026-05-08
  2. NIAH · Registry entry, ref. 50100309 · 2016-06-07
  3. Irish Independent · "Miracle on Fenian Street · Dublin pub completes annual Christmas wonderland transformation" — 2023-12-12

Reviewed pub lore

Local notes

Established

Built between c.1770 and c.1810.

Architecture

A well-proportioned late eighteenth-century former house which has been subject to some alterations and insertion of modern fabric, including the rebuilding of the upper floor and recent replacement of some windows. A decorative focus is provided by a doorcase that features Adamesque Ionic columns.

Community memories

Stories from people who know this pub

Loading community memories…

Know this pub? Add a memory