HomeDublin

THE TEMPLE BAR

BASEMENT AND GROUND FLOORS 48 TEMPLE BAR AND 46 TEMPLE BAR AND, EXTENSIONS SITUATED BASEMENT 47 TEMPLE BAR PART BASEMENT AND GROUND, FLOOR 46 TEMPLE BAR AND PART OF BASEMENT 15/16 TEMPLE LANE SOUTH, Dublin

Pub details

Address
BASEMENT AND GROUND FLOORS 48 TEMPLE BAR AND 46 TEMPLE BAR AND, EXTENSIONS SITUATED BASEMENT 47 TEMPLE BAR PART BASEMENT AND GROUND, FLOOR 46 TEMPLE BAR AND PART OF BASEMENT 15/16 TEMPLE LANE SOUTH
County
Dublin
Eircode
D02 N725
Opening hours
Mo-Th 09:30-23:30; Fr 09:30-20:00; Sa 09:30-19:00; Su 11:00-23:30
Licence reference
1009287

Amenities

  • Wheelchair accessible

Building and heritage

Commercial directories record a ‘grocer and spirit dealer’ here in the 1840s owned by J. Farley and a ‘grocer, tea, wine and sprit merchant’ owned by P. Ramsbottom in the 1890s, indicating a continuity of use for over one hundred and seventy years, and constituting a significant reminder of the social and commercial history of the area. This building retains some of its traditional form and fabric, with the fenestration, particularly the Wyatt windows, making an interesting contribution to the streetscape. Temple Bar and Temple Lane South are named after Sir William Temple and his son...

From the record · Verified background

What the archives say

Independent reporting and heritage records on this pub, drawn from a curated list of Irish news outlets, Revenue Commissioners, NIAH, and the Dictionary of Irish Architects. Every claim links to its primary source.

Listing historyNotable events

Revenue's renewed-liquor-licence register lists licence ref 1009287 as a Publican's Licence (7-Day Ordinary) for THE TEMPLE BAR at BASEMENT AND GROUND FLOORS 48 TEMPLE BAR AND 46 TEMPLE BAR AND, EXTENSIONS SITUATED BASEMENT 47 TEMPLE BAR PART BASEMENT AND GROUND, FLOOR 46 TEMPLE BAR AND PART OF BASEMENT 15/16 TEMPLE LANE SOUTH in DUBLIN CITY with TEMPLE INNS LIMITED as licensee.[1] The Irish Times reported in 2014 that Dublin City Council refused planning permission for a redevelopment within The Temple Bar pub involving construction of a “double height” oyster bar.[2] The Irish Examiner reported that Temple Inns Ltd’s pre-tax profits were €3.4m for the 12 months to the end of October 2017, and listed Tom Cleary and Jackie Cleary as directors.[3]

Sources  (3)
  1. Revenue Commissioners · Register of Renewed Liquor Licences · 2026-05-08
  2. Irish Times · Planning denied for Temple Bar pub redevelopment · 2014-12-05
  3. Irish Examiner · Temple Bar pub toasts 3% rise in profits to €3.3m · 2018-09-12

Reviewed pub lore

Local notes

Established

Built between c.1830 and c.1850.

Architecture

Commercial directories record a ‘grocer and spirit dealer’ here in the 1840s owned by J. Farley and a ‘grocer, tea, wine and sprit merchant’ owned by P. Ramsbottom in the 1890s, indicating a continuity of use for over one hundred and seventy years, and constituting a significant reminder of the social and commercial history of the area.

Street role

Dublin City Council refused a 2014 redevelopment proposal inside The Temple Bar that would have created a double-height oyster bar.

Community memories

Stories from people who know this pub

Loading community memories…

Know this pub? Add a memory